By Staff Writer | June 1, 2004

Former U.S. Marine Gen. Terry Dake, Bell Helicopter's senior vice president for U.S. Government and International Military Programs, will retire from Bell at the end of July. Dake joined Bell in October 2000 after retiring from the Marine Corps as assistant commandant. Dake served 34 years in the Marine Corps, including a tour as deputy chief of staff for aviation, with responsibility for all Marine Corps Aviation.

Keystone Helicopters has named David Ford as its President and COO. Ford joined Keystone in 1996 and served as vice president and general manager of the Helicopter Services Div. until last October, when he was promoted to senior vice president—Technical Services. During his 25-year career in the aerospace industry, he has held management and technical positions with Bell helicopter, Textron Lycoming and B/E Aerospace prior to joining Keystone. He can be reached at dford@keystonehelicopter.com.

Breeze-Eastern has named Robert Mingo to the position of vice president, Product Support. Prior to his new appointment, Mingo worked at Sikorsky Aircraft in program management, customer service management, integrated logistics support and field service management. He can be reached in his new position at (908) 206-3890 or at rmingo@breeze-eastern.com.


Thales Avionics has appointed Mark Barclay as managing director of its newly created Avionics Services Worldwide, based in Toulouse, France. Prior to joining Thales Avionics, Barclay served as chief executive officer of Thales Telecom Services.

Helicopter Association International honored 17 individuals and an insurance company with special recognition in its 43rd Annual "Salute to Excellence Awards." Joe Soloy and Peter Wright, Sr. received HAI's Honorary Membership Award for their pioneering work in the helicopter industry. Soloy, who passed away last February, received the award as founder of Soloy Corp., a company he founded in 1969 "to replace heavy and sometimes unreliable reciprocating engines with light and powerful gas turbine engines," HAI said. Wright received his award as founder of Keystone Helicopter Corporation, and well as helping create the American Helicopter Museum and Education Center.

The "Pilot of the Year Award" went to two individuals, Laurence Perry of Classic Helicopters, Woods Cross, Utah and Rick Harmon, Hawkins and Powers Aviation, Inc., Greybull, Wyo. for conducting a two-helicopter rescue of mountain climbers struck by lightning on a 13,770-ft. mountain being swept by 15-115 kts. winds.

United States Aircraft Insurance Group (USAIG) received the "Joe Mashman Safety Award" for its contribution to helicopter safety with programs such as the Safety Bucks Program and Preferred Policy Program, both of which emphasized manufacturer-run recurrence training.

Other awards winners included: "Aviation Maintenance Technician Award" to Sgt. Marc Cabibbo, supervisor of maintenance, New York Police Department Aviation Unit; "Aviation Repair Specialist Award" to Val Marshall, aviation maintenance technician, Era Aviation; "Igor I. Sikorsky Award for Humanitarian Service" to Jose Carvalho, pilot and base manager for Evergreen Helicopters; "Outstanding Certified Flight Instructor Award" to Wayne Brown, assistant chief instructor, Bell Helicopter Customer Training Academy; "Agusta Community Service Award" to Jack Alexander, site manager, Keystone Helicopters-Metro Life Flight Operations; "Eurocopter Golden Hour Award" to Capt. Mike Toms and Euan McKenzie; "Helicopter Maintenance Award" to John P. Subbe, rotor wing quality assurance supervisor, Pfizer, Inc.; "MD Helicopters Law Enforcement Award" to Capt. James Di Giovanna, commander, Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department Aero Bureau; "Lawrence D. Bell Memorial Award" to Peter Wright, Jr., vice chairman, Keystone Helicopter Corp; and the "Robert E. Trimble Memorial Award" to Capts. Terry Bleed, Lyle Borders and Tom Settje of Qwest Communications.

Receive the latest rotorcraft news right to your inbox