Regulatory, Services

HAI Awards and Recognitions

By Staff Writer | February 26, 2015

HAI will recognize the winners of its Salute to Excellence Awards at a dinner on Wednesday, March 4. These awards recognize achievements and merit of both individuals and organizations in the international helicopter community. This year’s winners are:

• Lightspeed Aviation Excellence in Communications – Michael Hirschberg, executive director, AHS

• W.A. “Dub” Blessing Award (Flight Instructor of the Year) – Simon Spencer-Bower, QSM owner, operator, chief pilot, and chief flying instructor for Wanaka Helicopters in Central Otago, New Zealand


• Excellence in Helicopter Maintenance Award – Patrick Cox, director of Product Support, Robinson

• MD Helicopters Law Enforcement Award – U.S. Park Police Aviation Unit Eagle 1

• Airbus Helicopters Golden Hour Award – Snohomish County Helicopter Rescue Team

• Excellence in Safety Award – Edwin McConkey, mathematician and software engineer

• Sikorsky Humanitarian Service Award – Portuguese Air Force 751 Squadron

• Appareo Syetems Pilot of the Year Award – Gary Dahlen

• Bell Helicopter Lifetime Achievement Award – Lou Bartolotta

Receive the latest rotorcraft news right to your inbox