Commercial, Military, Personal/Corporate, Public Service

Deadline Looms for Top Safety Award

By James T. McKenna | May 18, 2016

International aviation leaders are seeking nominations for one of the world's most prestigious safety awards, but the deadline is nigh. Nominations for the 2016 Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award must be submitted by June 1.
The award honors a "significant individual or group effort contributing to improving aviation safety, with emphasis on original contributions" that was "performed above and beyond normal responsibilities." It recognizes "notable achievement in the field of civil or military aviation safety in method, design, invention, study or other improvement." 
"Mechanics, engineers and others outside of top administrative or research positions should be especially considered," those organizations noted, adding that self-nominations will not be considered.
Past winners include Bristow Group's Bill Chiles (in 2014 for championing that company’s Target Zero initiative), Bob Sheffield of Shell Aviation (in 2012 for advancing safety in offshore helicopter operations), Honeywell's Don Bateman (in 2006, as the "father of enhanced ground proximity warning systems") and Capt. Robert Sumwalt (in 2003 for his work at US Airways and the Air Line Pilots Assn.; he currently serves as a member of the U.S. National Transportation Safety Board).
The Flight Safety Foundation and the Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Foundation administer the award, which has been presented since 1956 in memory of its namesake. She was one of 20 passengers and crewmembers killed in the April 14, 1945, crash of a Pennsylvania Central Airlines DC-3 near Morgantown, West Virginia. It has been presented since 1956.

Receive the latest rotorcraft news right to your inbox