June 14 Deadline for Safety Award Nominations

By James T. McKenna | June 9, 2017

img_medalA panel of top international aviation safety leaders will convene this coming week to review nominations for one of the world’s most prestigious honors in the field.

The deadline is June 14 for nominations for the 2017 Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award. The award honors a "significant individual or group effort contributing to improving aviation safety, with emphasis on original contributions" that was "performed above and beyond normal responsibilities." It recognizes "notable achievement in the field of civil or military aviation safety in method, design, invention, study or other improvement."

The Flight Safety Foundation and the Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Foundation administer the award, which has been presented since 1956 in memory of its namesake. She was one of 20 passengers and crewmembers killed in the April 14, 1945, crash of a Pennsylvania Central Airlines DC-3 near Morgantown, West Virginia. It has been presented since 1956.


Self-nominations will not be considered.

Past winners include Bristow Group's Bill Chiles (in 2014 for championing that company’s Target Zero initiative), Bob Sheffield of Shell Aviation (in 2012 for advancing safety in offshore helicopter operations), Honeywell's Don Bateman (in 2006, as the "father of enhanced ground proximity warning systems") and Capt. Robert Sumwalt (in 2003 for his work at US Airways and the Air Line Pilots Assn.; he currently serves as acting chairman of the U.S. National Transportation Safety Board).

Nominations can be made here.

Receive the latest rotorcraft news right to your inbox