By Staff Writer | July 1, 2004
Send Feedback

The European Business Aviation Assn. honored Jean-Francois Georges, former president and CEO of Dassault Falcon Jet Corp. and senior vice president of civil aircraft for Dassault Aviation, and Fernand Francois, CEO of the EBAA as the 2004 recipients of the European Business Aviation Awards. The awards were presented during the EBACE 4th Annual Awards reception and banquet in Geneva in May.

Georges was honored for his overall commitment to protecting and developing the interests of business aviation across Europe, and specifically for his initiative in setting up a business aviation committee inside the French Aeronautical and Astronautics Assn. This group consisted of four European manufacturers—Airbus, Dassault, Eurocopter and Socata—as well as the French AOPA, EBAA France and Aeroport de Paris. As a result of a white paper prepared by the association and presented to the DGAC (the French FAA/CAA), three working groups were established to examine fractional ownership, operational matters and environmental issues related to business aviation. These working groups are officially recognized by the DGAC, which allows exchange of views between the association, the DGAC and the working groups.

Francois has served as head of the EBAA since January 1993 and will retire at the end of this year. He will be replaced by the current EBAA chairman, Brian Humphries. Among his accomplishments during his 11-year tenure was the growth of the EBAA from 75 members in 1993 to just under 200 today. He also was instrumental in beginning the EBAA annual convention, which grew from just 80 delegates in 1995 to more than 350 in 2000. In 2001, he worked with John Olcott, head of the U.S. NBAA, to develop the European Business Aviation Convention & Exhibition (EBACE). The first EBACE held in 2001 had more than 3,600 delegates, and has grown to more than 6,000 at this year’s conference.


Bell Helicopter Textron has announced the resignation of Dennis Jarvi, vice president and general manager for V-22 programs. Jarvi is to become President, Defense North America for Rolls-Royce Corp. The resignation becomes effective July 18. Bell also announced the appointment of Kevin Connell as H-1 program director. He most recently served as executive director, Commercial Programs. He replaces Chris Becker, who is leaving for another position in the aerospace industry, Bell said.

Helicopter Assn. International has announced the re-election of G. Edward Newton to its board of directors as well as the addition of Patrick Corr and Steve Sabree to the board. Newton is currently chief pilot of helicopter operations and manager of safety, standards, training and special projects with Honeywell Corp. He will continue to represent the corporate sector for HAI, the association said. Both Corr and Sabree will also represent the corporate sector. Corr is CEO of Helicopter Adventures, Inc., a Florida-based training school, while Sabree currently serves as general manager of corporate aviation services for Chevron Texaco Corp. HAI also announced the appointment of Harold Lee Summers as a new staff member to serve as director of heliports and technical programs. Summers had previously served more than 37 years with Petroleum Helicopters Inc., most recently as the acting chief engineer in Zhuhai, Guandong, China for a joint venture project between PHI and the China Southern Helicopter Co.

Receive the latest rotorcraft news right to your inbox