Rotorcraft Report: People

By Staff Writer | January 1, 2009
Send Feedback

Nick Sabatini worked with the FAA for almost 30 years and has announced his retirement. Sabatini was the associate administrator for aviation safety since June 2001.

Vanderlei Anjos da Silva became the sales manager for DAC International’s Latin America market.

Dr. Douglas J. Floccare, the 19-year-veteran Maryland State Police Aviation Command Medical Director, was named the nation’s Air Medical Director of the Year.


Cary Brown was named as the vice president of operations for Helicopter Technology Company.

TrueNorth Avionics hired 11-year Satcom industry veteran Chris de Hoog as avionics product program manager to assist with customer and product sales support for its growing line of Simphone airborne telecommunications systems.

EADS North America appointed the Honorable Trent Lott to the company’s Board of Directors. Lott is the former U.S. Senate Majority Leader from the state of Mississippi who also served in the House of Representatives.

Clarke Mouncher was named global program director for the Rolls-Royce 250 for Dallas-based BBA Aviation Engine Repair and Overhaul.

QinetiQ North America named Donald Hazelwood as VP of unmanned systems at the company’s systems engineering group in Huntsville, Ala.

Four new inductees joined Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame. 2009 inductees include: Charles Luttman, who made outstanding contributions to the formation of the Canadian Aeronautics and Space Institute. Thomas Lamb, who founded Lamb Airways in 1935 and contributed significantly to the exploration of the northern regions of Manitoba and the Arctic. Barry Marsden, co-founder of Conair Aviation in 1969 and became its president and CEO in 1991. And Stan Reynolds, a philanthropist who donated a collection of aircraft to the province of Alberta.

Receive the latest rotorcraft news right to your inbox