Commercial, Military, Public Service

HAI 2011 Excellence Winners Revealed

By Staff Writer | February 14, 2011
Send Feedback

Helicopter Association International has unveiled the winners of this year’s “Salute to Excellence” awards. Keith Johnson of the Airborne Law Enforcement Association (ALEA) will receive the AgustaWestland Safety Award. PHI Chief Pilot Michael Hurst has won the Bell Helicopter Lifetime Achievement Award. The Eurocopter Golden Hour Award is going to Capt. Daniel Aufdenblatten of Switzerland’s Air Zermatt, rescue specialist Richard Lehner and Capt. Sabin Basnyat of Nepal’s Fishtail Air. The crew of U.S. Coast Guard Helicopter 6597, Helicopter Interdiction Tactical Squadron (HITRON) Aviation is being recognized with the MD Helicopters Law Enforcement Award. Sikorsky’s Humanitarian Service Award is being given to the crew of USCG Helicopter 6605, Air Station New Orleans, La. Other recipients include Lt. Audie Andry of USCG Air Station Kodiak, Alaska as pilot of the year, AgustaWestland Chief Pilot Lawrence Graves as CFI of the year and AMT2 Nicholas H. Baisden, USCG Air Station New Orleans, who is being recognized with the Rolls-Royce Excellence in Helicopter Maintenance Award. Winners will receive the awards during a banquet on March 7 during Heli-Expo in Orlando, Fla.
For related news


Receive the latest rotorcraft news right to your inbox