People October 2012

By Staff Writer | October 1, 2012
Send Feedback

FlighSafety International has promoted Ron Ladnier to director of military business development for the company’s simulation facility in Tulsa, Okla. Ladnier has worked at FlightSafety following his service with the U.S. Air Force. The company added Bert Sawyer as director of military programs for the Tulsa location as well.  Sawyer served with the Air Force and Tulsa Air National Guard prior to joining FlightSafety in 1990.

Grand Prairie, Texas-based American Eurocopter has named the members of the 2012 Vision Zero Aviation Safety Award Blue Ribbon Committee. The award recognizes air medical operators who have reached a high level of safety within its organization. Members of the committee include: Bill Bryant, president of Sierra Healthcare Group in Golden, Colo., with more than 25 years of air medical experience; Chris Bryant, retired Army aviator and current fleet safety manager for American Eurocopter; Chris Eastlee, president of the Air Medical Operators Association (AMOA); Eileen Frazer, executive director of CAMTS, Ed MacDonald, a retired Army major, former president of NEMSPA, previous co-chair of the AAMS/CORE safety committee and prior chairman of AMSAC; Greg Pagano, director of operations for the Health Care District of Palm Beach County’s Trauma Hawk Aeromedical Program in West Palm Beach, Fla.; and Jason Schwebach, the administrative director for Carolinas Healthcare System’s transport service, MedCenter Air.

Professional Resources in System Management (PRISM) has selected Chris Young as vice president of helicopter aviation services. Young is a former Sikorsky SH-60B Seahawk instructor pilot for the U.S. Navy and has worked with CJ Systems Aviation Group and Sikorsky Aircraft. He will assist with safety management system  (SMS) solutions.


Commander James Miller has assumed leadership of the U.S. Navy’s Helicopter Maritime Strike Squadron Seven Four (HSM-74) Swamp Foxes, based out of Naval Air Station Jacksonville in Florida.

Miller relieves Commander Joseph O’Brien, who has led HSM-74 since 2010. Both Miller and O’Brien have received the Defense Meritorious Service Medal and have flown more than 2,400 flight hours.

Cassidian has chosen Bernhard Gerwert as CEO and added him as a member to the EADS Executive Committee. Gerwert replaces former CEO Stefan Zoller. Gerwert served in the air systems and Defense Electronics departments of Cassidian from 2004 to 2011 and has been the chief operating officer since 2011.

Receive the latest rotorcraft news right to your inbox