12 Head to Women in Aviation’s Hall of Fame

By Staff Writer | December 1, 2015
Send Feedback

Naval aviator Brenda Robinson
Gen. Janet Wolfenbarger

Women in Aviation International plans to induct into its Pioneer Hall of Fame 12 former military aviators who “have led lives of great accomplishment while paving the way for other women to follow,” said Peggy Chabrian, president of the U.S.-based non-profit organization.


“There are no better role models for our members than this year’s group of inductees,” Chabrian added. The group is dedicated to the encouragement and advancement of women in all aviation career fields and interests. The dozen are to be inducted during the group’s 27th annual conference March 10 to 12 in Nashville, Tennessee.

They include the first 10 women to graduate from the U.S. Air Force’s undergraduate pilot training program on Sept. 2, 1977, at Williams Air Force Base, Arizona. These are Victoria Crawford, Mary Donahue, Connie Engel, Kathy La Sauce, Mary Livingston, Kathleen Rambo, Susan Rogers, Carol Scherer, Christine Schott and Sandra Scott.

Another inductee is Brenda Robinson, who in 1977 was one of 10 women selected by the U.S. Navy to enter boot camp then naval flight training. On June 6, 1980, she became the 42nd woman to earn her wings and the Navy’s first African-American woman to do so. Later, Robinson served as an American Airlines pilot for 17 years.

The other inductee is Janet Wolfenbarger, who retired earlier this year. Wolfenbarger most recently led the Air Force Materiel Command, headquartered at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. She also held several positions on the F-22 fighter and B-2 bomber programs.

U.S. Air Force Undergraduate Pilot Training Program Class 77-08 included the first 10 women to graduate. They received their wings on Sept. 2, 1977, at Williams Air Force Base, Arizona. Photos courtesy of Women in Aviation International



Receive the latest rotorcraft news right to your inbox