Regulatory, Safety

FAA Safety Admin to Accept Award at Airbus Experience Center

By S.L. Fuller | April 14, 2017
Send Feedback

Photo courtesy of the FAA

Photo courtesy of the FAA

Margaret “Peggy” Gilligan is set to receive the Washington, D.C., branch of the Royal Aeronautical Society’s Transatlantic Leading Edge Award. A reception is planned for April 17 at the Airbus Experience Center, with the annual general meeting to follow.

“Gilligan has been with the FAA since 1980, serving previously as the deputy associate administrator for 14 years and currently leads the organization responsible for setting, overseeing and enforcing safety standards for all parts of the aviation industry in the United States,” said the society. “Gilligan is recognized by the Washington, D.C., branch for her contributions to the overall advancement of aviation safety around the world.”


According to the FAA, Gilligan became the associate administrator for Aviation Safety January 2009. Other awards she has received include the 2014 L. Welch Pogue Award for Lifetime Achievement in Aviation; the 2011 Roger W. Jones Award for Executive Leadership; the 2009 Robert J. Collier Trophy; and the 2006 Laurel Award.

Receive the latest rotorcraft news right to your inbox